Week 100: Big Milestones

Hi!

Hope you guys had an awesome week and that you’ve got some good stuff planned!

This week for us was busy but awesome! We have been teaching a lot and working really hard and I swear, by the time I finish my nightly prayer I really am asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow. It’s a good feeling to be exhausted at the end of each day!

We met with T and H 5 times this week and they are doing so well! I remember when we first started teaching H he had a real hard time accepting Jesus Christ and the atonement because it was so different than everything he had been taught his whole life but every
time we meet the light in his eyes seems to be brighter and brighter and his faith is stronger and stronger. He reads the Book of Mormon every day and prayers every day alone and with his family and they have 3 hour long conversations about the gospel almost daily! In our last appointment this week he agreed to be baptized on the 19th of March. He has discovered his personal relationship with God and Jesus Christ and wants to follow Him. He said that his life was empty before he knew what he now knows but now it is full. He said it’s an honor for him to meet with us but I feel it’s the other way around. It’s truly been an honor to be a small part of H’s journey.

In other news, I have discovered that my math skills have completely vanished. On a mission you don’t really use that part of your brain much so it’s understandable but it was quite a shock to realize to what point my math has been lost. I and two other elders
decided we would see just how bad it was so we set up two problems. One being, 64-28 and the other being 14×17. So we all were able to do these in our heads and that really wasn’t a problem. It all got tricky, however, when we tried to do it on paper and I kid you not, it took over ten minutes to figure out the right way to do it and how it all worked. Haha it was a disaster. Elder Çakir being new and fresh on the mission without the brain cell loss just looked at us like we were complete idiots!

I would like to report that this week I reached a milestone. I finally got the same amount of meat on my döner as elder Çakir! The guys at the place we go to really like us and always give both of us way more meat than they give others but it’s always been clear that Elder Çakir gets the most… Until last Tuesday! Every time I go I try out some new Turkish words and this time I pulled out this little jewel, “Eti bol koyarsan sevinirim.” (I’d like it if you put a lot of meat on) and oh boy he did! Definitely the best döner I’ve ever eaten! It’s awesome because they know I’m trying to learn so they always just speak to Turkish to me so it helps a lot.

Well that’s all folks 🙂 have an awesome week. I love you 🙂

Press on,
Elder Gallacher

unnamed-7

Leave a Reply

