Week 96: Discovering Charity

Hallihallo!

Well here we are at the start of another week and I’m still wondering where time is going. I hope you all had an awesome week and you’ve got some good stuff planned.

We had a whole lot of stuff going on but the highlight was by far our trip to the temple with our friends T and his wife M.
Waking up at 5:30 was hard but it was one of those mornings where I was excited enough that I didn’t feel too tired. Walking to the station was freezing but we were in a train by seven headed to Berlin. We met T and his wife and walked together to the central station
and got the 9:16 to Elsterwerde, then on to Dresden and from there to Freiberg. We touched down at 13:25 and by pure luck the AP’s were there dropping missionaries off so they drove us to the temple which meant we didn’t have to walk two miles or so in the cold snow. That was a tender mercy for sure. T and M were so excited the whole time to just see the temple. Their greatest desire is to be baptized and then sealed in the temple. It’s seems as though they have put the temple as their biggest priority. We had a lesson with the temple sisters and president and his wife and it was amazing. It was in English, Turkish, Farsi and Spirit. Yeah, the spirit was so strong. At the end of the lesson we all knelt as T prayed. One thing I’ve noticed about T is that every prayer is precious to him. Growing up Muslim all he knew were memorized prayers in Arabic and he had no idea what he was even saying or to whom he was praying. During his prayer the spirit came to my heart and enlightened my mind as to the relationship that has been built up between T and his Father in Heaven. I felt an overwhelming feeling of love from God not only for me but even more so for T and M. This feeling was then combined with a sense of gratitude. Gratitude that I got to witness this relationship blossom. I think I’m learning a little bit more about what charity is.

I believe that every person already has this relationship with God because He is our Father and He has known us for eons. This life is not about God building a relationship with us, it’s about us discovering our relationship, made long ago, with Him. This discovery is a life long adventure and I feel so privileged that I was able to see the beginnings of this process with T and his wife.

I’m so grateful for my relationship with Heavenly Father. My discovery started young and had a bit of a pause but this past time in Germany has been like an Indiana Jones movie of discovery. It’s been amazing and I am filled with joy for what I have discovered and even more so for those I have seen and helped do the same.

Have a wonderful week and know that I love you.

Press on,

Elder Gallacher

 

unnamed-4

Leave a Reply

