Week 94: Becoming Christlike

Howdy everyone!

Well I hope you all had an amazing week. This week here in Germany was
really great!

We met with T. twice and he is doing so well. We taught him the gospel of Christ and he loved it! It’s so great to see how much he loves to learn. He is ready to be baptized we just need to get permission from President. He loves to pray with us and even though my Turkish prayers are pathetic he always says that he’s thankful that I’m trying to learn. He’s super nice and we really love him. We’ve been teaching a guy named D. English for about 3 months now and we’ve got a really good relationship built up and we decided to ask him on Wednesday if we could teach him and his family the gospel and he gladly accepted so we are excited to teach him this Saturday.

Thursday we had an appointment with J and H and we had to bring a ton of stuff because we would be staying in Berlin for the next two days and we missed our bus so that meant a 4K walk in -10 weather that felt like -20 because of the biting humidity and I can honestly say that my hand has never been so cold haha. My hand was exposed because of the suitcase that I was carrying and I had forgotten my gloves and by the time we got to the appointment the skin felt frozen and if you pinched it, it would stay in that position. Pretty nuts but we had a good appointment so it was all worth it!

We then headed off to Berlin to help the office elders with a Turkish
appointment but it fell through so we just got some dinner and spent the night at the office flat and we had a great time! The next day we had zone training meeting and it was fun. Elder Çakir and I got to give a theme and it felt really good to teach again! We stayed the night again in Berlin because we had another appointment late that night and one in the morning.

Sunday we were back in Potsdam and we had an awesome day at church!
C, a less active came and our friend B from Madagascar and O and his mom from Poland! It was a pleasant surprise for sure! That night we had an appointment with our 15 year old friend M. I was pretty worried because I wasn’t sure how to relate to him and how to get him excited for the gospel and then we got there and got to talking and I started sharing my experience when I was at school and it actually ended up being the same situation that he was in. The spirit was really strong and he opened up and we had just had a really good real talk and we were able to relate it to the plan of God and he really liked it. He’s such a good kid and he wants to do what’s right and he wants to do more with his life and to begin he set a goal of being baptized on the 6th of February! We are so excited for him!

I’m so excited for what this year has in store for all of us. My overarching goal for every year and subsequently for my life is to become more Christlike. It’s the grandest of all adventures and at the beginning of the year we just have so many opportunities. We are children of God! God is in our very nature! Think about how much God loves his children and how God will help you overcome your weaknesses if you work with Him! That’s what I’m excited for this year. I was reading in doctrine and covenants section 38:14-15 and it says, “14 But now I tell it unto you, and ye are blessed, not because of your iniquity, neither your hearts of unbelief; for verily some of you are guilty before me, but I will be merciful unto your weakness.
15 Therefore, be ye strong from henceforth; fear not, for the kingdom is yours.”

We can be strong starting now! God doesn’t expect us to start from some place we are not. He just wants us to start. To get into gear and to do something that will bring us closer to him. I’m excited to see what I can do this year in order to come closer to Him!

God is good.

Press on,

Elder Gallacher

unnamed-7

 

 

Leave a Reply

