Week 93: God Knows Our Hearts

Happy New Years!!

I sure hope that you all had a great week and start of your year. Make sure to set some good goals that will help you this year to be a little better and more importantly come a little closer to Christ! To be honest I had something that I wanted to share with all of you about being more like Christ but I left my notebook at the flat so I guess I could share it next week!

Over here we sure had a long, full week but it was great! We had some really good appointments including one with T! He is doing so good and it’s fun to be able to understand a little more of what’s going on! I was also able to share a testimony in very broken Turkish but we got the message across!
My best friend out here, Elder Winter, came and stayed the night on Tuesday and that was just the best! I swear both our voices go up a few octaves when we see each other because we get so excited! We had a good time reminiscing of the days in Hannover and sharing such good laughs! The friends you meet on the mission are truly special.
Wednesday: Elder çakir got really sick and literally slept from 9:30 am until around 18:00 so I just read Jesus the Christ and called tons of random people and actually got an appointment with a guy so that was neat!

Thursday was New Year’s Eve and it was awesome… And crazy! We had a great appointment with an awesome member family and we stayed there until they drove us home at 21:30 and then we just did some stuff at home. The fireworks were nuts. It sounded like a war zone the entire day and I didn’t think it could get any crazier but then the hours from 23:30 to 1:30 were absolute chaos! There were fireworks going off everywhere. Some would fall and shoot at and hit our building! Several cars got hit and sparks even came into our window! Haha we had a perfect view from the window of our a six story flat and it was a night to remember! The new year really came in with a bang and it made us think about all that has happened in the past year. I mean babies were born in the family. People moved, graduated and started their lives! More has happened over here that I can even begin to say but I can say this, it’s been a dang good year and I’m so excited for what this year has to offer!

To start the new year right the whole Berlin zone joined the traditional New Years run at the Brandenburger Tor and it was awesome! Thousands of people were there and we got to run a 4K in the freezing cold! It really was fun but it was funny because Elder Fitch and I made our way to the front of the group before the race started and we were ready to full out sprint the whole way but then it started and turns out we weren’t allowed to pass the old farts at the front carrying flags of all different countries which meant that we had to run at the pace of a lazy flock of goats the whole way but it was still a good time!

As for a small thought I would just like to share something that I read this morning in doctrine and covenants section 33:1;17 and it
says, 1 Behold, I say unto you, my servants Ezra and Northrop, open ye your ears and hearken to the voice of the Lord your God, whose word is quick and powerful, sharper than a two-edged sword, to the dividing asunder of the joints and marrow, soul and spirit; and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.
17 Wherefore, be faithful, praying always, having your lamps trimmed and burning, and oil with you, that you may be ready at the coming of the Bridegroom–

So these two verses don’t have a whole lot to do with each other but something I learned today is that the word of God discerns the thoughts and intents of the heart (as stated in verse one) and at this time we all have a lot of thoughts and feelings in our hearts and sometimes we wonder what our intentions are. My testimony is that the scriptures will tell us those things because they are the word of God! In verse 17 I learned what God wants me to do this year. It is a personal answer to me of what it means to have lamps trimmed and burning having oil with me. This was opened up to me because it showed me the thoughts of my heart and gave me clarity. I’m so grateful for the scriptures. They truly give us exactly what we need to move forward and come closer to Christ.

I love you all and hope you have a great week.

Press on,

Elder Gallacher

 

Leave a Reply

