Week 70: His grace is sufficient for us

Hello Everyone!

Man this week was another fast one and we had a lot on our plate, but
it went well!

On Monday we were exploring the city and we saw this street performer
named Shane Vanderwall who is a reggae guy and he was so good! We had
fun listening to him for a while and hearing him play some James
Taylor with a nice reggae spin!

Tuesday we headed out early to go to Bielefeld for an exchange. I came
back with Elder Silver and walked by some people and we talked to this
German lady who wants us to come and teach her and her son about
the Book of Mormon! She also wants help to get her son baptized!

We are meeting them tomorrow and we can’t wait! We met with Bokar and he is doing great!
We hope that he will be baptized on the 16th of August. We met with
the stake president as well and had a really good meeting discussing
the stake and how we can work better as members and missionaries.

Wednesday we were back in Bielefeld for a district meeting and it was
great! The missionaries there are all doing so well and it was great
to have some time to get to know them better. Bielefeld is pretty far
away so by the time we got back it was already later in the day, so we
ate some quick lunch at the train station and then we had a meeting
with the ward mission leader, and then off we went to a birthday party for a
little kid named habit… yes his name is habit! He is a little
Ghanaian and he is the son a new convert named Emma and we had a good
time celebrating together!

Thursday we had our own district meeting and had of planning to do but
it was a good day all around!

Friday I was on exchange in Celle and Elder Anderson and I had a great
time! We met with some really cool people and did some service.

Saturday and Sunday were also good. On Sunday we met a 16 year guy
from Albania named Wilson! He isn’t a member but met with missionaries
back in Albania and he loves the church! He is such a cool guy and he
is already our good bud. He wants us to teach him and we are sure he
will be baptized before we know it!

The week in all was so busy because we had to prepare a lot of
things and we were traveling all over the place, but it was really
good! We were able to get so much done but we still have lots to do.
It’s good to know that Jesus Christ is on our side, that’s for sure!

This week we ate dinner at a family’s house and they are just the
coolest couple. Elder winter and I gave the spiritual thought and we
talked about the atonement and how that is what motivates us to get up
every morning. As we read the scripture Alma 7:11-13, even though I’ve
read it so many times before, the spirit came so strongly and it filled
the room. We read some of the talk by Elder Holland “None were with
Him” and by the end of the talk the family was crying and so were
most of the missionaries! It was so powerful and today we got a call
from the Father and he asked us if we could give him a blessing today
so we went over and I was able to offer the blessing and the spirit
was so strong. Like most blessings I don’t remember what I said, but I
remember how I felt and I knew that the spirit was working through me
to say what he needed to hear. As we finished, the Father and his wife were in tears
and it was a very tender moment for us all.
All in all I want to share my testimony that Christ’s grace is
sufficient for us. He has gone through all things so that through Him
we might be made strong. I have seen that so much this week as I have
seen my weaknesses, but also seen my strength in Christ increase. I echo the
words of Paul as he said in second Corinthians 12:9-10
” And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my
strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I
rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon
me.
10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in
necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for
when I am weak, then am I strong.”

I invite you all to let your weaknesses be swallowed up in Christs
strength. He lives and His grace is sufficient for us.

I love you 🙂

Elder Gallacher

Leave a Reply

