Week 69: But by the grace of God I am what I am

Hello!

First off I want to say that I love all of you!

This week went by so fast and I can’t even remember that much, but here we go.

On Tuesday we took a nice train to the furthest end of our zone to a
place called Kassel. Even with a train that goes over 150 miles an
hour it took over an hour to get there, but we got there and I stayed
and had an exchange with Elder Culley. The day was pretty hard and no
one was interested until we saw a young Mom taking some stuff inside.
We thought, ‘hey we need to go Klingel her house’ so we went over and
as we were walking up she came out and basically acted like she had
been waiting for us! She had a huge smile the whole time and told us
how she has being trying to find a faith and truly find out if God is
there. After we bore testimony of the reality of God and the truth of
the Book of Mormon, her little six year old daughter came out and said
she was excited we came to talk to them! It was just the coolest
experience and as we went home for the night I was thinking to myself
how I would give a whole transfer of nothing but doors and
uninterested people to find just one person like her! Feeling the
spirit work through you makes all the hard times worth it. The next
day we visited a district meeting in Göttingen which is also super far
away but it was good. Then the next day we had an exchange with the
Göttingen Elders and I stayed in Göttingen with elder Williams and we
had a great time. We found a guy from Syria who is like 20 and he has
perfect German and English and he speaks Aramaic (language of Jesus)!

So yeah, this whole week I was on trains and in different cities so I
didn’t actually meet with anyone here in Hannover but our friends are
doing great.

This week I was reading in Corinthians 15 and I really like verse 10.
Paul simply says, “But by the grace of God I am what I am”

And I think back on a quote that I saw from a friend of mine and it is
from Orson F. Whitney”

“No pain that we suffer, no trial that we experience is wasted… All
that we suffer and all that we endure, especially when we endure it
patiently, builds up our characters, purifies our hearts, expands our
souls, and makes us more tender and charitable, more worthy to be
called the children of God.”

I know that through the grace of God I am who I am. The things that
I’ve done here and the service that I have given so far have reshaped
me and my nature. I still have so far to go, but I know that by God’s
grace, He has shaped me into a better person; A person who is filled
with inexpressible gratitude towards Him. With the help of God, and His
grace, the words “I am what I am” have become a joy and a hope to me!

I love you all. Get out there and let God work in you.

Give ’em heaven,

Elder Gallacher

unnamed

Leave a Reply

