Week 44: The Goodness of God

Brigham didn’t have a lot of time this week so here are a few snippets from the letter he writes weekly to his mission president:

Well this was quite a week,
I’ll start out with our personal work in the area. So this week sadly, every single appointment we had fell out and we have seen that we have been having trouble finding those who will really be reliable. I noticed that I wasn’t testifying as much as I should have. we would find people who had interest, but I think that the problem was that they weren’t getting a witness from the Spirit because, though I did teach, I failed to testify (or I did not testify enough). This week we had a lot of time to change that because of all the fallen through appointments, and I really believe that we made the best of it. We were able to find 6 new investigators and I really tried to apply what I had learned about testifying. I tried not to just talk and tell and ask questions, but truly tried to let the Lord speak through me and testify of all that I said and know. One of the people we found is named F. and he just showed up at the end of church and we invited to him to stay for Eric’s baptism, and he really liked it. We had a really good experience with him. The week that we have in front of us is looking good and we are really praying that we can help 4 of our investigators set a date for baptism.
This week one of the things that stuck out to me in personal study was the day after we had a long conversation with a man on the street. He told us a story of how he had believed in God but then his wife had been murdered and how he had not seen God helping him through his trials. Every time we testified of God he just said if there was a God he would punish the man that killed his wife, and though we tried to explain the plan of God he just could not except that there is a God. He also could not let go of his hate for the man that Killed his wife. It was a very emotional experience for him and for us and as we said goodbye. I just wish so badly that he could know the truth and that he would open his heart so that the spirit could testify to him that God DOES live and that He DOES have a plan for us and for him and that He LOVES all of us.
The next day as I read 2 Nephi 9, I read about the plan of God and about His son Jesus Christ. My testimony was truly strengthened. These are some of the verses that really stuck to me.
 17 O the greatness and the justice of our God! For he executeth all his words, and they have gone forth out of his mouth, and his law must be fulfilled.
18 But, behold, the righteous, the saints of the Holy One of Israel, they who have believed in the Holy One of Israel, they who have endured the crosses of the world, and despised the shame of it, they shall inherit the kingdom of God, which was prepared for them from the foundation of the world, and their joy shall be full forever.
19 O the greatness of the mercy of our God, the Holy One of Israel! For he delivereth his saints from that awful monster the devil, and death, and hell, and that lake of fire and brimstone, which is endless torment.
20 O how great the holiness of our God! For he knoweth all things, and there is not anything save he knows it.
21 And he cometh into the world that he may save all men if they will hearken unto his voice; for behold, he suffereth the pains of all men, yea, the pains of every living creature, both men, women, and children, who belong to the family of Adam.
22 And he suffereth this that the resurrection might pass upon all men, that all might stand before him at the great and judgment day.
How great are these truths! As I read these verses I could not help but smile and rejoice in the goodness of our God. Christ is come to save us all and our God has sent Him. I know that He lives and because I know this I want to share it with all whom I see.
We then also see where the Doctrine of Christ comes in verse 23
23 And he commandeth all men that they must repent, and be baptized in his name, having perfect faith in the Holy One of Israel, or they cannot be saved in the kingdom of God.
By following His simple doctrine the powers of the atonement will come upon us and we will be saved.
I was very blessed this week that Eric asked me to baptize him. and as he came out of the water and I saw his smile and as we talked together about the joy he felt, I could not help but cry and think how great is the plan of our God!
With this joy I felt I have a stronger resolve to bring this knowledge to all those that have not yet found the truth.
I love this gospel and I love being here on a mission!
hugs and loves,
Elder Gallacher
DSC07392

Train station

Train station

a wintry day

a wintry day

cold and happy

cold and happy

Hamburg in the winter

Hamburg in the winter

DSC07494

Elders with some great  family

Elders with some great family

Leave a Reply

