Week 29: We need to do our part

Hello!

This week could have been better that is for sure but it was still good and I learned a lot!
Sadly every single one of our appointments fell through, so we had a lot of time for finding. In the beginning of the week we had three really good conversations and gave out a book of mormon, but then as the week went on things got slower and slower. Sunday was a little hard because none of our investigators came to church and that is always just really lame but we will be meeting with people this week and things will be back on track.
Speaking of people I thought I’d give you a quick rundown on the people in our teaching pool so that you can know who I am talking about!
-Rosemary is a woman from Ghana that brother Stephens invited to church while we were on a bus and she has come ever since. She has three adorable kids and she is just pretty funny.
-Omo is a 25 year old woman from Nigeria and she is the one who told us that she wants to become a member. Right now she doesn’t live here but she will be moving back and then we will teach her.
-Abel is an inactive member from the Ivory Coast and he is really cool. He speaks French and really wants to do whats right but he just works really late and has a hard time getting up on Sundays.
-Soloman is a 22 year old half African half German professional soccer player who has read the Book of Mormon, D&C, and everything in the missionary library– including Jesus the Christ! He is really cool but we haven’t really made too much progress toward baptism. He also believes that Labron James is working with the devil and he talks a lot about illuminati so things can get interesting!
-Reza is very muslim and he tries to convert us so we are going to have one more ‘make it or break it’ lessons and if nothing happens we are going to drop him.
-Emanuel is 23 and from Ghana. He really likes us but we are not sure how much he actually understands so we just have to teach really slowly and make sure that he can understand things correctly.
For right now that is everyone that we teach.
In Mom’s letter she shared with me that the more obedient we are the less power Satan has over us. I know that that is true. I’ve seen it in my own life and I have seen it in the scriptures. I’ve been reading in Acts and over and over again the Apostles are getting put into prison and killed, but no matter what, they kept preaching and following Christ. Satan had no power to get them down, make them sad, or make them want to quit, he just couldn’t do it because of the faith and the obedience of the Apostles. The Apostles gave all that they had to spread the Gospel of Christ.
I want you all to know that I know that this gospel is true. I know it with all my heart. God is our Father and His Son Jesus Christ is our Savior. God is on our side. He will help us when we let Him. and by ”let Him” I mean that we do our part. The Lord has always asked us to do our part and we can be sure that when we do it he will pour out blessing on us. God knows us and he will remember us. In Isaiah 49:15  Christ says   ‘Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.
16 Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.”
I love our Savior and I love to be here –>Spreading his gospel.
I love you all!
Elder Gallacher
Leave a Reply

