week 26: “Come to Church!”

Okay!

So this week was awesome!
On Tuesday we met with a man named Reza. We found him on the street and he was excited to meet with us. Our lesson was kind of all over the place because he had so many questions, but it went really well. At one point he asked a pretty hard question and Elder Hellander and I were both stumped. But then the Spirit went into overdrive and I was able to answer questions and in doing so I learned something too!
On Wednesday I was on exchange with the district leader and it was kind of crazy because I still have no idea how to find my way around Hamburg! He had never been here either, but with a map and some knowledge from my tenderfoot days, we were able to make it through the day and not get lost!
Super cool story: we were on the bus and we ran into a new convert member named brother Stephens, and he is just great. He is African-American and from New York and he has been here for about 40 years now and he is just hilarious! Anyway, we were talking to him on the bus and this other  woman got in the bus and he asked me if I had a card to give out. So I gave him one and he just says, ”maa’m, you should come to church on Sunday. I love the church, it is great!” Right then we had to get off and we both just thought, ‘oh man, Brother Stephens is awesome!” And then what do you know, Sunday comes and this woman and her three kids come to church! She told us that she loved it and is going to come next week and we will start teaching her this week as well! And the best part was seeing how excited brother Stephens was that she came! It was so great!
We were able to meet with a few other investigators and they are all great! They are all from Ghana and they are just awesome! I think I am going to learn some Twi too (African language).
One of the highlights of this week was a dinner appointment with the abalo family. They are from Ghana and they made fufu for us. Fufu is is like dough with not a whole lot of flavor but you eat it with a soup and its great! You only use your hands and it’s so great! The soup had cow and when I say cow I mean the WHOLE cow… it had bones, the tail, the stomach, the kidneys, and just a little bit of regular meat haha it sounds gross and it was a little weird to get used to but it was so good! If you see the picture the pieces that look like honey comb are the stomach!
All in all the week was awesome. We talked to tons of people and had some really awesome conversations. Of course there were those who were rude, but when you’re spreading the good news how can you be down?
The sad thing is seeing so many people and knowing what you have to give them and not being able to talk with all of them. But we’ve got to start somewhere so that is what we are doing: spreading the good news to one ‘Hamburger’ at a time!
I love you all- remember to be happy and to love God! He is our Father and I know that He loves us.
Give ’em heaven!
Elder Gallacher
Friends

Friends

My Turkish friend who owned the Doner store

My Turkish friend who owned the Doner store

Letting me cut the meat!

Letting me cut the meat!

Saying goodbye!

Saying goodbye!

New Companion

New Companion

Hamburg

Hamburg

More of Hamburg

More of Hamburg

Transportation pass

Transportation pass

Cow soup mmm!

Cow soup mmm!

The masterpiece!

The masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

