Week 6/7: ‘high rock – serious valley’

Hello!!

Ok I have a lot to write so hopefully it doesn’t get all crazy and hard to understand.
I’ll start from Monday night: we said ‘bye’ to all our Romanian and Italian (elders/sisters) friends who study in the same building and that was sad. Then we all started packing. It took me about 5 hours to pack because I kept getting distracted. At one point Elders turned out all the lights and broke open glow sticks and painted the walls and ran around like crazy people pretending they were in space haha.
So I finally got packed and by then it was time to go so I hadn’t slept at all. We all loaded onto a bus and it took us to a train and then we took a train to Salt Lake. Then we took another train to the airport and got checked in and got on a flight to Minneapolis. I still couldn’t sleep because I felt really sick.
Anyway, when we got to Minneapolis, we all had time to call our families and that was really, really nice. Then we got on a plane and went to Amsterdam. I couldn’t sleep at all because I had motion sickness and it was miserable. I tried to talk about the gospel with some people sitting next to me, but they wouldn’t have it so I just sat there and read scriptures for 9 hours haha. We got into Amsterdam and we had a 4 hour layover and we had a super good breakfast and just chilled for a while.
Keep in mind I still hadn’t slept. We then had a quick flight to Berlin we met our mission President and the AP’s (assistants to the president) and went to the Church in Berlin. Right then we went out on the streets to go tracting.
It was pretty scary because the Elder I was with said,  ‘go talk to a lady over there’. so I went up to her and she just yelled at me haha it was so classic. We talked to a bunch more people and we actually found a new investigator! After that we finally went to a hotel and went to bed. By this time I had been awake for 55 hours and I thought I was literally going to die, but I lived! We got up and had an amazing German breakfast full of meats, cheeses, jam, and pastries– it was so good. After that we went back to the church to meet our trainers. My companion’s name is Elder Ashmead and he is so funny! We are super similar and get along great! We took a six hour train ride to my area. (my area hasn’t had a baptism there in 7 years!!)
It’s a little place called Hohenstein Ernstthal which means -high rock serious valley -and it looks like the shire from Lord of the Rings! There are tons of little villages called ‘dorfs’ and they’re so sweet!
I finally got to eat a döner which is a turkish type sandwich and it is sooooo good! One thing that is both cool and funny is that the hills are all florescent yellow because they are covered in rape flowers haha. So all day we are surrounded by these massive rape fields. My very first lesson here in Germany was with a Chinese guy named Hanzhi and it was in English! He is really cool, but he is just very confused about which church is true so we are trying teach him the importance of prayer.  He just doesn’t think it’s that big of a deal so it is kind of a tough situation, but we’ll figure it out!
My next lesson was with Herr Wagner, and one thing I’ve learned about Hohenstein, is that they don’t really speak regular German. They speak sächsish, and it is ridiculously hard to understand. Not only do they use different words but they also talk like they have a mouth full of marbles. It’s crazy!  We don’t have a ton of lessons here because we don’t have a ton of investigators, but I know that with faith we will be able to find those people that the Lord has prepared to hear our message. On Saturday we played “sport” with some members and it was so fun. We played soccer and I wasn’t terrible so that made the members love me haha. On Sunday I bore my testimony  ‘auf Deutsch’ and it was scary. Then we had lunch at a members house. Then we had ‘abendbrot’ at another members house and then we got to skype with family and that was just so nice!! Lots of other little things happened but I cant think of them all– oh wait, yes they have this cereal that is like little wheat puffs but inside is nutella and it is amazing!!
all is good here in the ‘high rock – serious valley’ I’m loving it so much!
talk to you all next week
Tschüssi,
Elder Gallacher
Saying goodbye to the Armenian elder/sisters

Saying goodbye to the Armenian elder/sisters

glowstick hallway at MTC

glowstick hallway at MTC

DSC00270

Amsterdam

Amsterdam

waiting to arrive in Berlin

waiting to arrive in Berlin

Berlin from plane

Berlin from plane

Berlin

Berlin

the yellow rape field flowers

the yellow rape field flowers

me and my companion, Elder Ashmead

me and my companion, Elder Ashmead

My view from window

My view from window

fun pic from Airport

fun pic from Airport

my kitchen/apartment

my kitchen/apartment

Church at Schwarzenberg

Church at Schwarzenberg

Skyping with family (picture from Mom)

Skyping with family (picture from Mom)

 

Leave a Reply

